Caring. Compassionate. Results Oriented.

How does spousal support work in Iowa?

On Behalf of | May 13, 2021 | Divorce

If you have concerns about supporting yourself after divorce, you may want to pursue alimony, or spousal support, in Iowa. The state offers three types of spousal support to facilitate the process of establishing separate households and finances when your marriage ends.

Review the factors that influence spousal support determinations in Iowa.

Rehabilitative support

You can ask for reimbursement, rehabilitative or traditional spousal support when divorcing in Iowa. Rehabilitative support provides a bridge that helps you develop the job training and skills to support yourself with just one income. You must provide a plan that indicates how you will use these funds to go to school or otherwise improve your job prospects.

Traditional spousal support

Iowa reserves traditional spousal support for individuals who cannot support themselves after their marriage ends because of illness, age or the need to stay home to care for young children. Generally, a judge awards this type of support after a long marriage in which only one spouse worked. Traditional alimony lasts until either spouse dies or the recipient spouse remarries.

Reimbursement spousal support

You can ask for reimbursement support if you financially helped your spouse while he or she attended school and developed a career. The court often limits this type of support to your contribution to your spouse’s degree, particularly in cases involving significant student debt such as law or medical school.

You can negotiate an alimony arrangement with your spouse or ask the judge in your divorce to decide. He or she will review factors such as the length of the marriage, both spouses’ physical and emotional health, income potential, property division, and all other relevant considerations.